Indigenous voice Local & Regional Co-design Group announced

Indigenous voice Local and Regional Co-Design Group announced
News Article

The Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP, has announced the membership of the Local & Regional Co-design Group tasked with developing options for local and regional voices.

The Local & Regional Co-design Group will be co-chaired by Professor Peter Buckskin PSM, who will bring his wealth of experience in the education and public service sectors, as well as his extensive involvement in senior positions at a wide range of Indigenous community organisations, to the role.

Ms Letitia Hope, a senior official from the National Indigenous Australians Agency, will be the government co-chair.

The full membership of the Local & Regional Co-Design Group is:

  • Professor Peter Buckskin PSM (co-chair)
  • Ms Letitia Hope (NIAA co-chair)
  • Cr Ross Andrews
  • Ms Ruth Davys
  • Ms Triscilla Holborow
  • Mr Paul House
  • Mr Chris Ingrey
  • Mr Des Jones
  • Ms Fiona Jose
  • Cr Getano Lui Jr AM
  • Mr Albert McNamara
  • Mr Wayne Miller
  • Ms Karen Milward
  • Ms Lavene Ngatokorua
  • Ms Vicki O’Donnell
  • Dr Aden Ridgeway
  • Ms Marion Scrymgour

The Local & Regional Co-design Group will work towards establishing a framework and guiding principles for models and options that lead to improved and enhanced decision-making, and link through to the national Indigenous voice.

The group will be assisted through the process by the Senior Advisory Group, co-chaired by Professor Dr Marcia Langton AM and Professor Tom Calma AO

Read the Minister’s announcement